Getting Balanced Before Baby

an adventure in personal reflection and change

Facing the music

 I woke up this morning excited to start my program. I hadn’t weighed myself since December of 2011, but I figured based on my clothes I was probably around 173-176ish. Well to my surprise and frustration the number staring back at me read 181. 181!!!! I’ve never been in the “180’s”. I was ashamed, and disapointed. I wanted my husband to say “it’s okay”. He didn’t. At first I was upset but I realized it’s NOT ok…. that’s why I’m starting this program right?! My goal is to lose at least 20 pounds. I would actually LOVE to be at 145-155 which is what I weighed in high school/before marriage. I’m 5’8″ so I know that 155 looks well on me. I will keep ya’ll posted. Here’s to the first day!

3 comments on “Facing the music

  1. diane lam
    May 25, 2012

    Proud of you as you start your journey to a balanced life.

  2. Diane Lam
    May 26, 2012

    I’ve been the heaviest I’ve ever been! I realized my culprit was the Peanut pretzel Mojo bars I’ve been eating every single day. They are loaded with fat, sugar and calories.I got addicted to them. I’m also eating too much at meals. At my age, my metabolism has slowed waaaay down! I’ve started eating much less at each meal, saving the other 1/2 for a mini meal snack to keep my blood sugar stabilized, or saving it for the next day. I only eat 2 halves of one Mojo Bar each week now. I have a favorite farmer’s market where I’m buying more fresh vegetables and eating more of that type of a diet. Hopefully these things start bringing the puffy down so my clothes fit again without cutting off my circulation. I wish you the best of luck with your program! We can do this!

    • fromashestoapril
      May 26, 2012

      Yeah those things can be deceiving if you don’t look at how many calories are in a serving. I’ve really been liking the medifast bars. I just had a S’mores bar and it’s only 100 calories. It was really good.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2012 by and tagged , , , , .
